Watch an asteroid whiz past Earth on Wednesday

Posted by David Eicher
on Monday, March 03, 2014

Credit: Virtual Telescope Project 2.0
On Wednesday, March 5, 2014, at 21:07 UT (that’s 4:07 p.m. EST), a 98-foot-diameter (30 meters) asteroid will pass a mere 217,000 miles (350,000 kilometers) from Earth. While that’s a long hike, the small space rock will hurtle 0.9 lunar distances — that is, closer than the Moon is to us. Designated 2014 DX110, the asteroid poses no threat of striking Earth but will make for an interesting show.

Thanks to Gianluca Masi’s Virtual Telescope Project 2.0 Web pages, you will be able to watch the encounter live. Coverage will begin at 20:30 UT (3:30 p.m. EST).

Enjoy!

Comments
To leave a comment you must be a member of our community.
Login to your account now, or register for an account to start participating.
No one has commented yet.

Loading...